A Christmas Eve Heart

After 400 years of silence from an all powerful God, what would you expect from him?

  • an amazing revival event in the world power – Rome?
  • the best prophet yet produced, showing Isaiah, Jeremiah and Ezekiel to shame?
  • an earthquake or some other large catastrophe?

Yeah, something like that, right?…

But that’s not at all what happened… at all.

He slipped into this messed up earth, as softly as falling snow.  He used a scandalous looking couple.  He was welcomed by the lowest class of people; shepherds.  He was vulnerable and weak as an infant.  He came on tax day, the most dreaded day of the year.  Everyone was busy thinking of themselves and how much money they had/didn’t have/or needed.

So often for me to feel like I”m being heard I think I have to be loud.  If I”m loud people will hear me.  If I’m loud people will notice me.  If I’m loud I’ll appear fun and attractive and outgoing and then everyone will listen to me.  To get people’s attention, I reason being loud is the way to go.

But Jesus slipped into this world, he was the best news, the savior, the redemption you and I needed, as quietly as snow falling peacefully in the night.  No one around realized who he was.  There was no neighbors popping over to congratulate this exciting, wonderful birth.  There was no family around.  The news was not on the radio or TV.  The angles didn’t come and sing and freak out all of Bethlehem.  This baby that was born to change the world after 400 years of silence was not clearly announced and explained to all.  Not everyone understood and believed.

So what are you doing this year with the baby?

  • Are you running around franticly trying to get all the perfect gifts for everyone?
  • Are you baking up a storm for your family and friends?
  • Are you decorating your house and finding all the latest bargains to bring a cherry Christmas look?
  • Are you attending Christmas programs or Christmas Eve Services or caroling?

These things are not wrong.  Please, don’t get me wrong.  I do (and am doing) all of the above also…  But who’s in charge of it all?  Who’s controlling all my busyness?  I’m the one who is baking and cleaning and buying and stressing and going shopping and you fill in the rest…  I’m trying to produce my expectations of what my Christmas is supposed to be like.  If I fail my expectations I’m a lousy woman.

But, wait there’s more…

What about those things your dealing with this Christmas?  You know, like your finical situation?  Your sister-in-law who is in jail?  Your brother who can’t get off drugs?  Your grandpa who is possibly on his death bed?  Your mom who is stuffing all her pain and hurt from her husband?  Your friend who can’t talk to her parents because of their strained relationship?  A friend at church whose dad is in the hospital?

You know, what about all that???

You can control how your house looks (most of the time) but you can’t control a dying grandpa or drug addict brother.  In the middle of all that mess, Jesus was born 2,000+ years ago.  Jesus was born already knowing about your mess.    Today, what are you doing with this special baby?  Is he far away from you?  Have you discovered enough ways to self preserve through your pain and hurt?  Does Jesus seem too weak for take care of you?  Is he insignificant and simple to how real and difficult your problems are?  Is your life far too complicated for this baby to be a part of it?

So this Christmas, I’d like to suggest, to offer, to invite you to something more.  Instead of you being the one busy, you being the one in control of the happenings around your house, you being the one managing all your stress and you being the one holding baby Jesus…

I wonder what it would be like for the baby Jesus to be holding you?

 

While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn.  Luke 2: 6-7

One thought on “A Christmas Eve Heart

Leave a Reply

