Menus

This morning finds me sitting here

Week 2, and I’m still going strong with my new year’s resolution!

I got my laptop, cookbooks, morning coffee <with Italian sweet cream; not my favorite but I got to drink it up so I can try/get another one>, and my breakfast which consists of whole wheat toast w/ butter and cinnamon. Lately I’m in a “Try putting cinnamon on it” phase. J Oh, and my cell phone for good measure.

I decided to start creating a menu this year for plenty of reasons-

  1. It will help me with my grocery shopping so:
    1. I’m not buying access things we don’t need to spend the money on
    2. And it will organize my shopping so everything I buy WILL <hopefully!> get used in the week; especially thinking of fresh items here.
  2. So I won’t be standing in my kitchen at 4pm and wondering out loud to myself, “Self, what are we going to make for supper!!!” <true scene>

    Can I get a witness!?

  3. And we would like to start budgeting our money and monitoring our spendings more tightly. This includes keeping all HEB receipts…
  4. And, I’ve been inspired by a book I’m reading right now, Marital Bliss With A Kiss of Reality by Michele Beachy and Christy Smucker. <To learn more click here>

     

    ♣   For some help from ya’ll, I found 2lbs of ground turkey in my freezer… <I’m thinking I bought it my mistake thinking it was hamburger or it was part of our newly wed grocery shower gifts>… and I’m not sure what to do with it…

    Any suggestions? ? ?

    Leave a comment!

7 thoughts on “Menus

  1. Hey lady,
    Love to read your updates. The “can I get a witness” made me laugh. And believe it or not that still happens at our house after 10+ years of making meals. 🙂 I’m into the couponing thing … definetely a hobby but sure helps with our budget too. 🙂
    about the ground turkey? use it like ground beef and feel healthy. 🙂
    have a fun day. You inspire me to make menu’s for the week.
    Joann (kauffman)

    Like

  2. I use Ground Turkey all the time. Don’t even buy hamburger. You can use it for anything that you would use hamburger for. Make turkey burgers. Make spagetti. Make . . . anything you would use hamburger for. Taste’s a bit different then hamburger, but it’s healthier. And you just inspired me to start doing menu’s again. Sigh. It’s so much more fun to be impulsive about it. I know I cook better when I plan ahead, though.

    Like

  3. Oooh! I’d like to think I bought the ground turkey thinking I was being all healthy! Bummer! I just revealed my ignorance a little bit here!

    Joann – Thanks for the reminder on coupons! We don’t get a newspaper so I tend to forget they exist! I have heard about coupons.com though…

    Lucy – You’re good a being impulsive! Making menus had made me feel much more organized mentally. It’s like a sigh of relief right now. Especially with getting ready to go back to school and knowing that I”m gonna be much busier and need help in the cooking department

    Like

  4. Here’s a good ground turkey burger recipe that we like.

    Skinless Ground Turkey burgers
    1 1/2 lbs. ground turkey
    1 small onion, chopped
    1 egg
    1/2 c. bread crumbs
    1 tsp. salt
    1/8 tsp. pepper
    1/4 c. ketchup
    mix ingredients and form into patties and place in a shallow baking dish. mix the following ingredients to make a sauce and spread over the patties.
    3 tbsp. brown sugar
    1/2 tsp. dry mustard
    1/4 c. ketchup

    bake at 350 for 1 hour

    I like to use turkey burger because it’s healthier. Sometimes I use half beef and half turkey.
    I would love if you would post your menus. 🙂

    Like

    1. Wow! Thanks for the recipe 🙂 I’ll have to try it! It looks like it’s small enough for the 2 of us too!
      As far as posting menus. . . well. . . that would be really exposing! They are nothing great.
      But since I have a request now. . . 🙂

      Like

  5. I like the picture, and I’d want to see menus, too. Ours are never great, either, and it’s always nice to get new ideas when you’re uninspired.

    Like

Leave a Reply

