Under the { tomato } influence


I have been seeing talk about Tomato Pies around facebook.

I’ve never before heard of Tomato Pies. . .  and kept thinking I should check it out one of these days.

So, last night I caved and tried my handy work at cooking up such a pie.  Jason and I had plans for the evening last night and supper was a quickie.  We didn’t have time to sit and enjoy it but it was a great quick, easy meal!

Here’s the recipe:

Ground 1 lb on beef w/ 1 onion {or half if you prefer less onion }.

Drain off grease, add 2 Tbsp ketchup & 1/2 tsp salt, { if you’d like: add dashes of red pepper, oregano & garlic powder }

Put in deep dish pie shell {I actually used a regular one for this size recipe and it worked perfectly. }

Sprinkle wtih 1 cup chopped tomato.

Bake @ 425 for 20-25 min.

Sprinkle with cheddar cheese {I used what I had, Mozzeralla & it tasted fabulous } & bake for 2 more min or until the cheese is melted.

It’s a meal all in it’s self.  I also baked biscuits to go with it. . .

Let me know what you think!  Hope you try it!

2 thoughts on “Under the { tomato } influence

  1. mmm looks n sounds good. Thanks for sharing! And… I had to laugh when I read ur last post about Violet n you, I’ll have to ask her n c if she remembers that. 🙂 Brings back alot of my child (ish) dreams. 😉 haha

    Like

    1. Yes! Ask Violet about that song! Oh, the dreams we dream when we’re young! I wonder if mom still has the pictures we took for our album cover?… Ha! When we’re into something it’s all or nothing with us!
      Let me know how your tomato pie turns out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

