devotions = fiddler on the roof

Day 22

A Saturday sonet

~

For a very long time, I mean a VERY LONG time, I have been in this “I don’t want to do a daily devotion because I don’t want my relationship with God to be something forced and checklist-ish.”  Maybe I’m freaking you out right now?

So for the past year and a half { now I”m telling on myself } I haven’t forced myself into any kind of devotional bible reading pattern in my life.  I’m not saying that in a year and a halfs time I never read my bible.  I did.  I’m just saying that I didn’t put myself in that shame/blame game if I missed one or a couple days, make sense?  My bible time with God was random- not forced.

Some may call it reaction.  Some may call it sin.  Some may call it rebellion.  Whatever the case, I think my time of absence has brought me to the place where I think I need it again.  I’m at a place in my life where I feel like I need to know God better.  I want a better relationship with God.  I miss that time in my day for connection.  And to know God better I should read my bible.  His book tells me who he is, about his character, and he speaks to me.

I don’t know what my devotions will look like for today.  I don’t even know where to start reading in my bible.  I have no idea what my expectations for bible reading should be now…   Whatever the case I’m scare it may become un-connected and routine again.  It just might.

Devotions feel a little bit like that fiddler on the roof.  It’s tricky to keep the relationship and traditions balanced.

and this fiddler is feeling the pressure. . . mixed with hope & enthusiasm.

8 thoughts on “devotions = fiddler on the roof

  1. I love it Jolynn! Chris and I have felt the same way about the routine scheduling of daily devotion. We seem to grab our bible randomly, which sometimes goes in phases of ‘every night’, to ‘not for months’. I love your openness and honesty about your relationship with God. I think we need more of that in His kingdom!

    1. So we’re not alone?… 🙂 thanks for your comment, Piper! Love hearing from my readers. Someone once told me that the verse ‘sing unto the lord a new song’ can apply to various things… including devotions. I wonder if God gets tired of routine just like we do?
      Cheers to a fellow journeyer!

  2. I love this, Jolynn!!! Maybe your Bible reading will look different this time around. Maybe it will be for a different purpose. Journey on, my unmet friend! 🙂

    1. I always get excited when you comment & burst forth the good news to Jason! I feel like you connect me to Jason’s ‘Crabb’ world… (since I haven’t been there).
      Thanks for you encouragement and cyber-friendship 🙂

  3. This is exactly how I have been feeling lately Jolynn! I think keeping in our focus the thot of wanting to grow deeper in our walk with Christ keeps us going back to His Word! Being a mom of four busy little ones, I often struggle with not having my devotions every day. But the days I dont sit down and have my devotions I try to focus on different songs or verses or even explaining things to my little ones. Blessings to you for your honesty! I really enjoy your blogs-inspiration, thots, ideas etc! Monica Martin

Leave a Reply

