Sacred Ache

Sheila Walsh.  An extraordinary woman.

Once shared about her involvement with Woman of Faith.

Bravely she shared about not ever feeling like she completely ever fit in or belonged.  Even I don’t face up to loneliness.
One moment she found herself at one of the Woman of Faith conferences among the other very popular speakers for the event, a place where you would think that would bring a great sense of belonging and feeling of contentedness.  Yet, there she admits to feeling the ache of loneliness.

It was in that moment and in that pain that she cried out to God, “Why, even in this moment surround by all these people and friends do I still feel lonely?”  And he comforted her by telling her to keep this ache sacred.  Because through that ache with in, God causes us to remember that this world is not our own.  We are not here to only feel good, happy & satisfied.  Keeping the ache sacred by not shutting it out or trying to fill it with something else (which is so easy to do) keeps us soft.  Soft before God; soft before others.

That sacred ache.

 

6 thoughts on “Sacred Ache

  1. Again I was touched as I read your blog tonight. I appreciate so much you sharing this. I know I needed it. May God give you joy, peace, and grace, friend. Love, Regina

  2. Thanks for your comment. The concept to hold an ache scared has been such a stewing thought for me. I love it but at the same time it makes me feel more fleshy or earthy… if you know what I mean.

  3. Hmm… I was just trying to explain this to a friend tonight, but the words didn’t really flow as well as I hoped. I know what you mean. Thank you…

  4. “And he comforted her by telling her to keep this ache sacred. Because through that ache with in, God causes us to remember that this world is not our own. We are not here to only feel good, happy & satisfied. Keeping the ache sacred by not shutting it out or trying to fill it with something else (which is so easy to do) keeps us soft. Soft before God; soft before others.”

    Good stuff right there. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

