Do you know the muffin man…the muffin man?


Still cooking away through my wedding gift cookbook.  (If your not sure what I mean read up here)  I really have been making quite a bit more recipes than I’ve been blogging about for you info.  I just think a recipe needs a picture.  Other wise it’s less exciting and yummy looking and then you’re more apt to try it for yourself!  So after heating up the kitchen yesterday and whipping up lotsa yummy goodness I only managed to snap pics of the muffins. Yeah, I had good expectations but the camera battery was dying…  Sadness, I know. So the chicken and beans your gonna have to be brave and just try withOUT a picture.  Seriously.  Cause it was good.  Like, really good.

I’ll start with the main menu then move into the dessert and muffins…

Busy Day Chicken Barbecue

1/2 C ketchup               2 T sugar               2 T vinegar               2 tsp mustard                              1 tsp Worcestershire sauce               1 tsp liquid smoke (I added this one 🙂

Mix ingredients in pan and bring to boil. Arrange chicken pieces, about 3 lbs, in pan or casserole dish.  Spoon the above sauce over it.  Cover and bake 20 min at 350.  Uncover and bake 20 min longer or until tender.

~

Up next is the baked beans.  I was really excited about these because since living in Texas, I’ve learned to cook off beans in the crock pot and then freeze them.  So now was a chance to use them other than frying them and mashing them.  Down here people eat beans {a lot}.  So, when in Rome, do as the Romans, eh?  I surprising use them a lot to now.  I don’t know how I would cook differently if I still lived in Pa.  People sometimes ask questions like that and I honestly don’t know how to respond.  I know one thing for sure- we ate a lot of HAMballs and HAMloaf.  Oh, I miss that stuff.  Gene Wenger’s Ham loaf, anybody?  Can I get a witness?  Last time we were in Pa, I was gonna buy some, freeze it and stuff it in my suitcase to fly home with me but it was blur of a time up there, as usual, and we simply ran out of grocery shopping time  {Why can’t Glenn Wood Foods be open on a Sunday afternoon?}  So I’m banking on next time and remembering. Now, back to those beans!

Baked Kidney Beans

2-1 lb cans kidney beans              1 med onion finely chopped                 1/2 c ketchup                    3 T brown sugar               1 T mustard

Combine all ingred.  Place in a greased 2 quart baking dish.  Top with several slices of bacon.  Bake at 350 for 1 hr.  (I used pinto beans that I had on hand in the freezer which tasted great!)

~

While I was baking and everything was in the oven, I had an hour loll of waiting for Jason to come home and the food to be ready so I decided while I’m loving being in the kitchen right now {and have the time}, why not make something else.  I thumbed through the pages and decided on bran muffins.  I’ve never tried them before.  Ever.  They always sounds bland to me to be absolutely and completely honest.  But, hey, I’m in the kitchen, got time and got the ingredients {it is getting to the end of the month people and the budget/cupboards are extremely thin.  I decided on a half batch just in case the bland theory was correct….

Bran Muffins

1 C sugar               1/2 C butter               2 eggs               2 C bran               1 1/2 C milk, sour milk or buttermilk                   1 1/2 C flour               3 sm tsp baking powder

If using buttermilk or sour milk, add a pinch of baking soda.  Mix all together and bake in greased muffing pans at 375 for about 20 min.

AND. they. were. AMAZING!

~

Earlier this morning I had seen in my cookbook a recipe for caramel pudding.  I haven’t had that stuff in years!  My grandma, as a child, 2 houses down, used to make it all the time and we bee-boppers would just slurp it down!  Such fund memories of my dear grandma.  This recipe was a little on the sweet side though if you ask me.  So next time I think I would do a cup-and-a-half of sugar instead of 2.

Old-Fashioned Caramel Pudding

2 T butter               1 egg               1 Qt milk               2 C brown sugar               2 T cornstarch         2 T flour               1 T vanilla

Beat egg and add milk, set aside.  Brown butter in skillet; take off heat and add sugar, cornstarch, and flour mixing well.  Put on heat and add egg mixture slowly.  Cook until thick, stirring constantly.  Remove from heart and add vanilla.  cool.  Can top with chopped nuts or whip cream and bananas.

~

So that’s all for now!  This was my menu yesterday.  Today was a bit different.  I was sick during the night so today I was home all day, didn’t go to work and my supper was simpler to say the least.   am feeling much better by the way.  The rest of the week looms ahead with work every day, different meals to make for different occasions and shopping to squeeze in there yet.

Cheers to the rest of your week and may you eat yummy food!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Do you know the muffin man…the muffin man?

  1. Yes, Gene Wengers is the best ham loaf. i must say though i think the beans sound better than the hamloaf. i love beans! You sound like a wonderful cook! One good recipe in that hammercreek cookbook is the meatballs over rice i thinks its in by marlene rutt. good & really easy to whip together last minute. -Dorcas

    1. If I sound like a wonderful cook it’s because of my cookbook challenge- trust me! I don’t just dream of food or anything… a-hem, but I am sorta starting to enjoy reading cookbooks like mom used to! Ha ha!
      And those meatballs over rice is good- agreed! I’m pretty sure I tried that one already and liked it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

