A Few of My Favorite Things

Some of my favorite things lately…

1) GOLEAN Crisp! – Cinnamon Crumble

IMG_1496

This cereal is so flavorful and not hard and crunchy like some stuff. It has 10 grams of protein and 9 grams of fiber per serving – good stuff for a cereal says this momma to be πŸ™‚

2) Pumpkin Spice Coffee CreamerIMG_1497

– with –

3) Folger’s Black Silk coffee too, by the way. No picture, sorry. Someone recommended it to us last time we were at Wal-Mart in the coffee aisle. So we yielded and have been happily indulging ever since. If you’re a big coffee lover, it’s a dark roast that is smooth like silk and no strong after taste. Try some today!

4) Love me some homemade English Muffins. Yes, you read right. Homemade.

IMG_1493

I didn’t know you could make them either til I spotted it one day while reading my cook books. So the next day when I went grocery shopping I made sure to pick up some corn meal (cause that’s what you roll them in before you fry them). I know, I know. You ‘fry’ them. Who knew??! IMG_1489
It was fun to make them for the first time. I don’t know if or when I’ll do it again. It was kinda one of my spur of the moment, spontaneous happenings here on Hackberry.IMG_1487 Just imagine, the house smelled so yummy, kinda like doughnuts – a fried doughy smell. Jason cooked eggs for supper while the muffins were getting done. It was a very good supper with the sights and smells to go with it – la la laaa! I’ll post the recipe at the bottom of this post if you are interested.IMG_1490(little burnt in beginning here…)

5) New preggo tops. Some of ya’ll are probably thinking, “it’s about time (to see preggo ANYTHING)!”

IMG_1504

Honestly, I”m not that big of gusher when it comes to me personally. I can gush and gush about my cereal and coffee creamer and the way the flannel sheets feel at night but there’s something about when it comes to me and my body or health, that I’m usually pretty quiet. Unless you ask me questions then I’ll open up. IMG_1503Some of it might have to do with the fact that this is my first time being pregnant and it’s all new. I might feel a little big out of control and inexperienced here… πŸ™‚

IMG_1505

This shirt is from Old Navy. I got it for $5 on the clearance racks. It’s not maternity but I’m planning on wearing it on during and after. The pictures are kinda fuzzy maybe but that’s what we get when I take them. (Jason ALWAYS does way better. Here’s proof:)


(we raked and burnt leaves today)

So, some preggo news for you newsy lovers:

  • Today I’m exactly 23 weeks.
  • Last night Jason felt our lil peanut move for the first time! Yay, daddy!!
  • When I shopped for maternity tops I tried to be resourceful and get ones that aren’t necessarily maternity but ones that are styles that can be crossovers – because 4 months of big(er) belly-ness isn’t the rest of my life. I’m thinking $$$ here!
  • I started doing Pilates workouts on youTube and some yoga if I’m in the mood. I like Pilates and always feel better after doing them. Yoga I do to, after I get done laughing in the first 10 min with there breathing stuff, then I’m good to go! (Sorry if that offends anyone reading…)
  • My ribs are starting to get sore. And I love leaning back and stretching out my stomach. I’m kinda high waisted and I think that means this little fishy inside of me doesn’t have much room to go. (I wonder if this means, based on my body type, that I’ll get huge-ish; all out the front?? If I was longer waisted I could maybe hide the belly more?? What do all you experienced momma have to say about that?….)

~ ~ ~

ENGLISH MUFFINS

– from the Weavertown School Family Cookbook

1 1/2 C milk 1/4 C butter or margarine 1 tsp salt 1 T yeast 2 T sugar 1 egg 4 1/2 C unbleached Occident flour (I used bread flour and 1 cup of wheat flour)

Heat milk and butter in saucepan until very warm (130 degrees . In a mixer bowl combine sugar, salt, yeast and 1 1/2 cups flour. Beat in egg and 1 cup flour. With spoon add 2 cups flour or enough to make a stiff dough.

– Ok, somewhere in here you have to add the milk mixture… so I ended up pouring it in slowly with the remaining flour. But here is what a recipe on All Recipes says:

Warm the milk in a small saucepan until it bubbles, then remove from heat. Mix in the sugar, stirring until dissolved. Let cool until lukewarm. In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes. In a large bowl, combine the milk, yeast mixture, shortening and 3 cups flour. Beat until smooth. Add salt and rest of flour, or enough to make a soft dough.

Back to my cookbook:

Turn dough onto lightly floured surface and knead just until well mixed, about 2 min. Shape dough into ball and place in greased bowl. Cover and let rise until doubled. Punch down. Turn onto lightly floured surface. Cover with bowl and let rest 15 min. Roll dough about 3/8″ thick. Cut into 3″ circles. Re-roll scraps until used up. Dip both sides of circles into corn meal. Place them on cookies sheets, cover and let rise until double. Brush large skillet with veg oil. On low heat, cook muffins about 8 min on each side or until nicely browned.

Split muffins and toast!

3 thoughts on “A Few of My Favorite Things

  1. Yes, some of us WERE thinking it’s about time to see preggo anything! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But you probably had .no. idea I was thinking that after only half a dozen hints. πŸ™‚ You are super-cute. super-super cute! I just love that I can now picture you with a baby bump. πŸ™‚

    23 weeks already? Wow! That’s fun time. I liked wearing “normal” clothes for as long as possible, too. For some reason I’d always think that I’d probably still be able to wear them at the end, yet. Surely I won’t get Tooo big. Then suddenly…ka-poom. And maternity tops it is.

    I had a prenatal DVD that I completely adored, and highly recommend. it has some more active stuff (kind of, but mainly very easy), some yoga (which I also love), and some birth prep. It’s called Fit Mama, and I think you might be able to find the whole thing on Youtube if you don’t feel like buying it.

    The very foodie post made me smile. πŸ™‚ I’m thinking that I’d like to try baking English muffins, too. They would be the same for me–very much a one time inspiration baking type of thing.

    Like

  2. I thought of you especially, Christy, with the ‘need to see pics’! Ha ha! It’s all good! I know my family back home is missing out on preggo me and Jason also has family scattered hither and yond that peek in on me here so you’re not the only curious George on that one!
    I hadn’t realized I just did a foodie post until you mentioned it! Ha! What’s with me and FOOD??!! I feel like I eat so much lately. I’ve actually gone to bed hungry because I couldn’t believe that I’d be hungry AGAIN! Oh, and those English Muffins we amazing! I ate like 4 that night (and suffered for it the next 2 days – too much of a good probably is!)
    My ‘ka-boom’ moment has officially happened. Someone tonight wondered if I was as far along as another lady beside me who is due in 3 weeks. So, Lord, I think I’m gonna get pretty large till it’s all said and done!! (I’ll think I’ll focus on enjoying where I’m at right now!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

