Some Good Eats


Way back whenever, I really can’t remember and I’m too lazy to go back and look at old posts to see, I got this brilliant idea to cook my way through a cookbook.  As it turns out I am still {and randomly} working my way through this cookbook.

 It was a wedding gift from my Aunt Sharon.  It’s actually a cookbook from her church I believe.  I remember I chose this book above all the commendable others because was the skinniest one I had in my cupboard.  Ha!

IMG_0958

It has been an adventure.  And being a stay-at-home mom now, I feel like cooking is one thing I can pour my creative energy into well.  With a 3 month old baby I do have to do some planning ahead and prep-work.  Juggling Gavin’s nap time and my time can get hairy.  Maybe that will be the story of my life the next 5 years.  (Ok, reading over that I sound like a wimp and can hear mom smiling and laughing at me – (hey, I’m new at this be-at-home with baby {who is far from an adult in relating to me} stuff)  Probably after 5 years I’ll be reading over this and be laughing at myself too.

What has made the past 2 wks more enjoyable is a freezer is full of options like hamburger, chicken, sausage and ham loaf, so as I flip through my cookbook and my fancy gets struck I don’t have to sigh and mentally try to remember to make it after next shopping trip.

Reality check people:  freezer is full due to Sam’s shopping trip.  Not because Jason shot a dear or a pig or even a chicken for that matter.  The chances of Jason (or me) shooting something is going to be very rare.  Because both of us are huge softies at heart and could NEVER have the guts to to actually shot some thing dead.  Ok, I may be selling Jason short.  He has killed before.  Killed wildlife before.  Killed and made the world a safer place before.  End of spiel now.

Moving on:

 This past week almost every supper had one item from the cookbook in it. Except for Friday night.  Friday was leftover time.

IMG_1935

 So, if you’re interested in a few of our eats this week, read on.

*Before I continue, let me just say that I wish I was a better photographer.  Ok, said it.  Now you know.  Please don’t judge.  The end.*

 

I typically have a hard time making rice here in We Heart Rice South Land.  Once I asked people to help me out on recipes and tips.  That helped.  But, I usually don’t just make rice.  I have to be feeling brave or it’s something that has to go with the meal.  Anyway, my cookbook from up north, the same north where rice is served as much as burritos, had a microwave recipe.  Hey, it was worth a try.  As it turned out, it was very good!  I served it with Hamburger Steak (click for recipe) and a bag of premixed, yummy looking  salad from Wal-Mart.  That’s how this momma rolls.

Rice Pilaf Microwaved
Melt 2 T butter in a container that has a lid.  Add 1/2 C finely diced onions, sliced mushrooms & minced parsley and 3/4 C of diced celery.  Cover with lid and microwave for on high for 3 min.  Add 1 C (uncooked) rice, a 14oz chicken broth,and 3/4 C water.  Microwave on high for 10-12 min.  Do not stir.  If rice is not tender, microwave an additional 3 min.  Let set 10 min before serving.

IMG_1941

As you can maybe see, thanks to my camera who was more attracted to the salad, my rice has no mushrooms and celery in it.  I didn’t have mushrooms on hand and I believe I have only bought celery once since we’re married.  We don’t do celery ’round here.

This is the ooooh, soooooo yummy Hamburger Steak.  You must, must check out the link above.

IMG_1933

~ ~ ~

One afternoon I was in a dessert making kinda mood and this recipe was untitled ‘quick’.  I happened to have fresh blueberries on hand so I whipped out this quick cobbler.  I’m not a cobbler fan.  I prefer that oatty, fruity, warmy kind of desserty.  Is that called a crisp, like an apple crisp or something?  I don’t know.  Whatever.  Here is the recipe for the cobbler – which was good people.  Just sayin’…   🙂

Quick Cobbler
Melt 1 stick butter in a casserole dish or cake pan.  Beat 1 C sugar, flour, milk, 1/8 tsp salt and 2 tsp baking powder together.  Pour batter over melted butter.  Do not stir.  Pour 2 C fresh peaches, raspberries or blueberries (sweetened to taste- I didn’t sweet them and it was great) over batter.  Bake 40 min at 375°.  Sever warm and if you want- with ice cream 🙂


IMG_1930

I halved this and it was the prefect amount for Jason and me.  And as you can see, that’s me eating cobbler.  I can eat cobbler.  Eating.  Cobbler.  See.

~ ~ ~

In the chicken mood?  (It seems to be all about moods with me.  Yup, either my mood or the babies mood- right!)

Have boneless, skinless chicken breasts on hand?  Try this very tasty chicken.

Stuffed Chicken Delight
Saute 1/4 C onion in butter.  Add 3/4 tsp oregano, 1 tsp dry mustard, 2 tsp parsley flakes and 2 C bread crumbs.  Line 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts with a slice of mozzarella cheese.  Top with filling.  Fold chicken over filling.  (I ended up putting the filling and cheese and paprika on top of the chicken because I couldn’t figure out how to fold the breasts.  Ok, that and I didn’t read ahead quite comprehendingly)  Sprinkle with paprika and salt.  Bake at 375º for 1 hr.

Aaaa-MAY-Zing!

IMG_1919 - Version 2

~ ~ ~

I have a favorite granola recipe in another cookbook but decided to give the lone recipe in this cookbook a try.  The one I like has peanut butter in it.  This one doesn’t but has cinnamon which my ol’ faithful does not.  It’s pretty good.  Still like my pb one better 🙂

Granola Cereal
Mix 6 C oats, 2 C wheat germ, 1 C nuts (your choice), coconut, & sunflower seeds in a large bowl.  In separate bowl mix the 3/4 C honey, 1/2 C oil and 1 T cinnamon.  Pour liquid over dry ingredients and thoroughly mix.  Place in a 9×13 or larger pans and bake at 350º for 35 min, stirring frequently.  After cool, add 1/2 C raisins or craisins and dates.

Add what you like or have on hand.  I just added craisins and for my nuts I just used walnuts this time.  Also, didn’t add sunflower seeds either.  I toasted it at 275º for not quite an hr and it got kinda dark.  I wish I would have gotten it out when my gut told me to.

Remember I said I had blueberries on hand?  Well, I”m loving my morning breakfasts’ of homemade yogurt, granola and blueberries.  So yummy!  Enough to even eat 3rds!  Opps!  Did I just type that?  Ok, yeah, if your homemade yogurt is as runny as mine, you wouldn’t feel full very fast either.  Oh, my.  (Still working on that pinterest pin, y’all)


Have a great wknd everybody!

And a pic of the Gavinator before I go!

IMG_0787

banner

Leave a Reply

