Foodie Friday: Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars

New here? I’ve joined this group of bloggers with the Nester blogging every day for 31 days! Each day in my series I unpack a bit of what intentional friendship looks like. Catch up here. On Wednesdays I attempt WIWW posts and Fridays are for my fellow foodies!

Day 10
Foodie Friday

IMG_2398

Can I just say these are aMaaaaaaaaZing!
The salted caramel is the Boom-digity!
If you don’t have it on hand, go make it here (she has pictures!)

This morning  my little goober and I  busied ourselves in the kitchen making this. He is always my side kick begging for a schlick or two… I had pined this recipe from pinterest recently. I wanted to make something with my home-canned apple pie filling. Stirring up some salted caramel that I have never tried before was an added bonus. (Amen and Amen!!)

 > > > < < <

SALTED CARAMEL APPLE PIE BARS

Directions

Preheat the oven to 300F degrees. Line an 8-inch baking pan with aluminum foil or parchment paper. Leave enough for over hang.

Mix crust ingredients in order given in a bowl:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

Press the mixture evenly into the prepared baking pan. Bake for 15 minutes. Meanwhile prepare apple filling and streusel.

IMG_2352

For the apple filling I used 1 quart jar of home made apple pie filling I had on hand and added 2 Tablespoons of flour. I’m sure you could use boughten canned pie filling and add flour that that as well.

If you don’t have any canned pie filling proceed as follows:

Mix already sliced apples, flour, granulated sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg together in a large bowl until the apples are evenly coated.

  • 2 large apples, peeled and thinly sliced (1/4 inch thick)
  • 2 Tablespoons flour
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

IMG_2331

Next mix together the streusel in a separate bowl.

Stir together the oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, and flour together in a medium bowl.

  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter, cold and cubed

 

 

IMG_2336
Cut in the chilled butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. I used my hand-held blender. It was a Christmas gift from the Husband. If you don’t have one, add it to your wish list for this year now.

IMG_2345

You should have two bowls something like this by the time your crust is ready to come out of the oven.

IMG_2349

My little goober boy helping.   “Say Cheese for Mommy!”

IMG_2355

First pour the apple mixture on the hot crust.

IMG_2359

Then with your hands sprinkle on the streusel.

IMG_2361

Bake for 30-35 minutes until streusel is golden brown.

Load your Salted Caramel sauce (that you can make from here) on top of bars after cooled and removed from pan and parchment paper. You can eat them warm or cold. Keep bars in an airtight container and store in fridge.

>  >  >  E N J O Y  <  <  <

Salted Caramel apple pie bars

 

IMG_2395

 

IMG_2391

 

IMG_2378

 

 

IMG_2384

 

Continue following my 31 Day series

>>>here<<<

13 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars

  1. Wow–wish I could have these with a cup of coffee in your kitchen with you and Gavin right now–especially since you already did all the work!! 🙂

  2. well I ‘ve decided I’m gonna love your Friday blogs! I just had to make the apple bars!! They’re in the oven!

  3. Oh, yum, and this is amazingly are something I could eat!!! I think I’ll be making them. They look so good, but the caramel alone would be worth making. 🙂

Leave a Reply

