Foodie Friday: A Cup You Can’t Put Down

Day 17

photo 2

Shine down on me October Sun. It’s radiant rays boldly blaze through my panes of glass. Shine in and warm my walls. Warm my floor. Warm my senses desperate to slow down. As I snuggle in the couch, mug in hand, Bible in the other, it’s 7: 47 and I take in the glow of Autums’ flair alone. Husband just left, babe tucked in bed, it’s me and my God time. We’ve been separated but today we gather again.

It’s been a week. Yes, a week of family here. Visitors from Pennsylvania, my home country. It’s been good. It’s been real. It’s been relaxing. It’s been reacquainting. It’s been heartwarming. There is nothing like seeing ones own family when gone through deprivation. Because 24 hrs between each other does that. Because deprivation equaled refill-ation and then today exhaust-ation.

Warm my senses desperate to slow down. . .

When I think that I planned blogging through this month knowing that we’d have visitors smack dab in the middle of this 31 day series, I don’t know what I was thinking. I did write ahead a bit but sometimes it’s hard to push ‘Publish’ when the words aren’t resonating like the day they did when I wrote them. As I’ve written this month, I’ve invited the Spirit, God’s Spirit to lead me. I’ve been wanting to allow my heart to dance with the spirit as I write. Re-reading old words sometimes seemed, well, old. Oh, suspicious Spirit has taken hostage my brain and fingers as I write and re-write.

Or do I just like to write? Each time I sit down to update my blog for the day, I feel compelled and inspired to write anew. Just like today. Though I’m tired and worn, my fingers type. Though my eyelids blink heavily, my fingers type. Though I was just going to post a simple recipe and pictures, my fingers type. I think I like to write.

# # # # #

My subject for this month, Intentional Friendship.
Click image to see directory and catch up reading if you must.

Intentional 31 days

 

My subject on today, Friday.
Food.
Would you be ok if I talked about drink?
Not food but drink?
If I shared the recipe with you, would you be ok with that?

Since its fall and since it’s chilly, today I made myself a Pumpkin Spice Latte.

pumpkin spice latte

 Since it’s weathering in the 50’s.
Since our windows are open still.
Since our house and walls and floor are glacial.

I found this recipe from Nifty Betty for Pumpkin Spice Syrup.
It’s the perfect addition for coffee.
It’s what you need to make a Pumpkin Spice Latte.
Make your syrup by clicking for recipe here. (It’s so easy, y’all!)

Or follow my easy-peasy directions below

Pumpkin Spice Syrup

Mix 1 cup water and 3/4 cup brown sugar and heat in microwave for 4-5 min. Add 1 tablespoon pumpkin puree and half teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Whisk together well. Strain with a cheese clothe, small sieve if you have or next best thing. Store in an air tight container and chill.

photo 2

For the latte:

Mix 1-2 Tablespoons of syrup in your mug with half warmed milk and half brewed coffee. Top with whipped cream and pumpkin pie spice.
OR
top with Salted Caramel Icing  <-  yes, please!!

photo 3

 

Happy Fall, Y’all!!!

5 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: A Cup You Can’t Put Down

  1. Now this looks good. Straining the syrup makes me think I’d like this one. I have made them before with other recipes and don’t like the gritty taste of the pumpkin or something. I’m gonna have to try this because I love pumpkin in the fall. 🙂

    Like

      1. Jolynn,
        I haven’t liked pumpkin pretty much as long as I can remember, but lately a craving for the smooth richness of a pumpkin treat has been forever plaguing my tastebuds!
        I must try this one! I have a funny, funny story about pumpkin…lol I’m not on Facebook, so I miss a lot. 😦 But would you like to txt me sometime?

        Like

Leave a Reply

