No Small Adventure

do it with coffee

It’s monday. I rub my eyelids trying to wake up. Awaken to another week.

Of all the smarter, more energetic, Godly and happier woman in the land, God choose me for this mothering life. It’s a special role that He has called only me to. I do want to get up and follow Him today but– Yes, sometimes there is a but…

My but is, I want to leave my dishes and my little pile of laundry and follow just as the brave and fearless fishermen did when they left their nets to run after Jesus. I want to leave for an adventure too. Go somewhere big. Travel across the sea.

But that would not be following Him today. Following walks out through my hands. Hands sorting through my piles of dirty clothes. Hands wiping a snooty nose. Hands warming up leftovers. Hands pulling up the blankets to make the bed.

God has made a perfect path for me in this motherhood journey. I don’t have an outstanding resumé for the this job but God still chose me and sees me fully qualified. He sees my saint-hood while I see my fail-hood. God wanted imperfect me right here, right now.

Lately I want to just jump on the next flight out of here and go. Leave these small walls and small town. Go somewhere big. Live a grand adventure.

But — God has perfectly placed me here today.

He knows what no-small-adventures awaits me in my mama-hood.

adventures awaits

Do you ever become weary in mothering day after day?

Do you ever dream of traveling? Maybe not living a different life necessarily but miss the single days of carefree adventures?

Does the responsibility of raising and being there for your children appease you? Keep you  centered to your calling at this season of life?

What are your feelings? Stories? Do you resonate with these words? I’d love to hear your thought and comments!

5 thoughts on “No Small Adventure

  1. I’m definitely not a married woman or a mother, but God bless you as you strive to maintain your servant heart in outwardly mundane situations. It blesses me. Thank you for setting a perfect-imperfect example for the rest of us. 🙂

  2. Yes, yes and yes. I feel the pull to run, to go, to get lost… I wonder if I’m getting anywhere where I am, am I doing anything worth while? I look at my children and think surely I am, but am I trustworthy with them? Does He really think I can do this? What if I mess it all up. And my mind rambles on…

  3. Ugh! I’ve had my share of wiping noses lately.

    “Do you ever become weary in mothering day after day?” Yes, yes I do. Every day these days, but I’m grateful. So, so grateful.

    “Do you ever dream of traveling? Maybe not living a different life necessarily but miss the single days of carefree adventures?” I dream of traveling and don’t plan to stop actually. But I’ve waited a long time for this motherhood, and I’m not wishing back my single care free days (Jolynn, if you think hard enough, you’ll remember that the single days weren’t always so care free ;)).

    “Does the responsibility of raising and being there for your children appease you? Keep you centered to your calling at this season of life?” When I keep my focus on my most important calling – loving, worshipping, bringing glory to my Jesus – these secondary callings become so much more valuable, treasured, meaningful.

    Love your writings and how it stirs my brain and heart to necessary processing. And please feel free to hop on a plane and head this way to satisfy your traveling/get out of town longing.

Leave a Reply

