For the Love of + 4 Things

IMG_5430

 

THE COOLER WEATHER this morning was absolutely gorgeous. It was cool but not cold. This reminds me of a mid-summer morning in Pennsylvania before it warms to a muggy 85 degrees. This September morning though holds a hint of fall sneaking across Central Texas; quite contrary to my homeland.

I washed our new Egyptian cotton sheets and proudly hung them on the wash line. Running my hands over the fabric made me feel like a millionaire; thanks to left-over wedding gift cards. I never owned something so ritzy before and had a hard time deciding if I still felt fancy when I slipped under the covers that night. I did know that the bally sheets were not missed. Not by a long shot.

To you newly-weds, don’t feel compelled to spend every single gift card pronto. Five years later you might know what you really need with that high dollar card…

IMG_5702

My whinny two-year-old suddenly wanted a cookie so we shared the last two brownies outside on the back patio with our rude begger of a dog. It’s no lie I was craving something sweet too. Fear of having to lose 30 lbs after this pregnancy always plague me after a sweet sneak like that. Words from a lady in town, “Watch your carbs in the last trimester” exhausts laps in my brain lately like that children song ‘little finger, little finger, where are you?’ a catchy, turned ahNOYing tune that I can not for the life of me get out of my head.

I may or may not have knocked off a few nice sized crumbs for the hound-nosed begger.

The other day I went shopping and every store was flaunting all things Fall. For the love of fall. Oh, how I adore you. Let me count thy ways :: 1.Pumpkin foods, 2.pumpkin spice lattes, 3.scarves, 4.jackets and 5.boots. (this list is in no way exhaustive)

Now if I could only find more gift cards lying around . . . . . . .

 

LASTLY. I KNOW. I’VE BEEN SPAZZING about how it’s going to go with two children this November, one being a new-born. My control-freak-ness is being coerced into losing that battle in the end. He knows his defeat is nearing and the bigger my belly gets, the more uncomfortable I get and the closer to D-Day I get, I’m thinking bring it on – crazies and all! Let’s have this baby and just do it!

 

 


4 THINGS

 

  1. WONDER WHAT YOUR HANDWRITING SAY ABOUT YOU? Wonder no more! This video from BuzzFeed is fun to watch for a quick assessment – ha! 🙂

2.  SO I MAY HAVE BEEN FREAKING a bit with worry pondering how life with two kiddos will go. Then I read this short poetic blog post and was reminded that maybe I am forgetting the sunset – the good things change with a baby will bring.

3.  SCREEN-TIME STRUGGLE with our kids is real for most of us moms. Here’s a good perspective from the blog Lasso the Moon on limiting not restricting. Point number 3 bit me a little bit too hard…

4.  THIS WEEK I MADE MAPLE GRANOLA! Y’all it is yummy-licious!! This link is the closest I could find to my Mennonite Cookbook recipe.   note: I used coconut oil instead of veg oil and if you want my recipe leave me a comment! I’m convinced it’s better then this one!

4 thoughts on “For the Love of + 4 Things

  1. I love that jacket you linked to and I think you should get it for a postpartum gift for yourself. 😉 You are a darling pregnant mama and you will rock the mama-of-two thing!

    Like

  2. It’s definitely fall like, this week. Not even getting into the 70’s some days. I’m dragging my feet a bit about fall. The jacket is beautiful.

    You guys are amazing, hanging onto a giftcard for 5 years!

    Like

    1. The fallish weather comes in the mornings and evenings and then vanishes in the middle of the day but I’m loving it! I can understand your pain about winter looming on the horizon though…
      And that gift card came in handy. It just goes to show that money never expires!

      Like

Leave a Reply

