Books for Your October

I’ve been reading an awful lot lately.

This past year I’d have to say it’s true, I’ve read most of my books on my phone. I got a library card from a nearby library that has an incredible selection of online books – well, mostly incredible selection. You would think they would have Texas native authors available like Jen Hatmaker or Melanie Shankle or Jennie Allen. Seriously.

Living life out in the boonies makes it hard to get to a real library every two weeks. And it’s true when I say the libraries in Waco just don’t have as nice a stash or new releases available as the library south of here does, a big town or small city, I’m not sure what you call it. Whatever it is, its library is top dog compared to Wacko Waco’s three.

If you follow my blog at all you know I’ve written in the past that Waco is my city. Yet in the realm of libraries, it lacks.

It’s so easy to read on my phone right before going to bed when the lights are out, when I rest in the afternoons, doctor waiting rooms, in the car driving to Houston and just about anywhere else. My phone is always with me, hence the books are always with me too. I suspect it will be easy to read on my phone while I nurse in the future too. Yes, I’m planning on nursing again. Not sure how long I’ll last with child two.

The little, itty-bitty town here does have a library. It’s itty-bitty though and for that reason I hardly ever wonder down there. The cool-slash-weird thing about it is that you can borrow the books forever and never have to pay an overdue fine. Well, actually, they got a new librarian within the past year so that may have changed now…. Like I said, I hardly ever go there.

So, enough yada-yada for you book worms out there. Here is some of my favorite, latest reads.

 

Favorites List:

the language of flowers

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
Can I give this one 5 stars? It was that hard to put down. It made me want to study the meaning of flowers and simply put, to make my life more meaningful and intentional.

Daring Greatly

Daring Greatly by Brene Brown
I wish her newest book, Rising Strong was available in e form but it isn’t- hopefully in the future it will be. I didn’t actually finish it because it took me longer to read then two weeks. Sometime I’d like to buy it or check it out again. It’s just that there’s always a waiting line for it.

Tide Water Inn

The Hope Beach Series by Colleen Coble.
I recently discovered Coble and thought I’d give her a try provided she was available on e form – which she was. They are good books and she’s a good writer but kinda predictable as well. I love the beach location.

Eleanor and Park

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell
I think I read this one in like 2 days. I was glued to my phone. It took me back to my 90’s school days on the bus. Oh, the memories…

 

Here are two of the hard copy books that I’ve been reading right now at the same time.

 

Simply Tuesday

Simply Tuesday by Emily Freeman.
Duh, if you follow this blog you will know I’m crazy about Emily lately.

 

Listen In
Listen In by Rachel Crabb, Sonya Reeder and Diana Calvin.
I am a Larry Crabb fan and Rachel Crabb is his wife. She is the sweetest thing and in this book I feel like I’ve gotten to know her personally. I’m also picking up a few tips on being a more intentional friend.

 

Three books I’ve been on the waiting list for EVER to come available. Hurry up and read peoples!
Yes Please

Yes Please by Amy Poehler.
I’ve seen this one mentioned in Christian arenas numerous times now in a positive light so I’m curious to read it. Also, I don’t read memoirs really (I can only think of one, maybe 2 if it classifies as one) so I’m kinda excited to give a different genre a try.

 

Big Magic

Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert
I read half of her book, Eat Pray Love and wasn’t completely sold on it or the message maybe, but I enjoyed her craft and art of writing and can learn writing technique from her. So for that reason I’d like to give her newest book a try – especially since it’s on creativity.

 

We Never Asked for Wings

We Never Asked for Wings by Vanessa Diffenbaugh
I love, love,LOVED her book Language of Flowers, so can’t wait to read her newest book. I’m like 8th in line. boo-hoo!

That’s my reading pile lately.
Have you read any of these?
Which did you like or not like?
I’d love to hear from you.

Also, any reading recommendations from you?
Drop me a comment! I’m always open to new suggestions!

 

3 thoughts on “Books for Your October

  1. “We Never Asked For Wings” did not disappoint! I was glued to the book til I finished it. Can’t wait to try some of your other suggestions. I would love to follow some fellow bookworms on IG. Any suggestions? Shanghai Girls was one if my latest reads. Overall pretty good. And if you haven’t read Unbroken you really should. I don’t read on my phone but I do love my nook. I really think you need to have that on your Christmas list.:) Happy reading

    1. Oohhh! Thank you, thank you for the recommendations! I just now borrowed them! Ready to read!
      And I’ll have to take Into deep consideration that nook! 😉
      I follow Ann Bogel (modern mrs darcy) and Emily freeman; those are the biggest two IG-ers. I also follow Tsh Oxenreider and occasionally I get some book recommendations from the nester, Myquillyn Smith. In my e-mail I get Gateway e-mails which often have books and what’s on sale.
      Happy reading to you as well!!

Leave a Reply

