Adding Sugar 

IMG_9566.jpg
It happened when I practiced adding sugar to my words. It’s true getting loud and mean doesn’t make kids listen or move any faster. If anything it gives them power because mom’s out of control. When we speak sweetly, they respond happily. When I flip my lid, I hope it’s over something pretty big that deserves the serious tone.

Being with my kids every day can make it hard to remember they’re my little blessings. An actual gift from God. No matter what my past is like or what others might think of me, I want to speak sweetly and lovingly to my babies. To lay groundwork for communication for our love for one another. They are forever mine and I’ll be their mama forever.

Even when I don’t feel it, I hope the words I hear my voice saying sound like sugar. The more I spoon out sugar,  the easier it will flow without much effort.

And so, adding sugar to my words each day is slowly taking over. Like  how I quickly took to sweet tea in Texas and  needed to make sure it had enough sugar.

It’s a new habit, one not hard to acquire taste for and crave, it flows with ease out of my mouth, out of the jug. As we trust each other, mother and child relationships become securely established. Take root in safe boundaries. We learn to understand and read each other well. Really, I learn to understand and read myself more.

Nothing is insignificant. Our thoughtless words shape and impact more then we ever dare to acknowledge. And a meal isn’t quite complete with lout some tea.

A little sugar goes a long way.

“Pleasant words are as honeycomb, sweet to the soul, and health to the bones.” Proverbs 16:24

If you would like to stay in the loop and not miss a post, please sign up to receive each fresh post directly in your inbox


If you’d like to contact me personally, email me at thenwedancedblog@gmail.com

I’d love to hear from YOU 

Leave a Reply

